School of Rock – Week 7 – Tools, Time, and Rooms

CreativeCommons image Tool Stash by Meena Kadri at Flickr.com

SUMMARY

In this article it will explain all the different things that I learned this week. I listened to a podcast, played my instruments, became a soundtrap expert, and many more things! Read on to find out!

PRACTICE ROOM (TUTORIALS)

When I was in this room, I watch one of Justin Guitar Lessons videos that was teaching me about bar chords. It helped me understand a lot! Because I watched this video, i’ll be trying to learn more songs that have bar chords in them (or I might just substitute). One of the channels I watch and enjoy is a Youtuber Patrick Teaches the World. He has many educational videos that help a lot and he has videos that help with specific songs.

CLASSROOM (THEORY & ANALYSIS)

Image of Gordon Hempton
Image by Richard Darbonne, © All Rights Reserved.

What I learned from listening to the story Silence and the Presence of Everything by Gordon Hempton was that we should notice all the things around us. We shouldn’t take advantage of all the beautiful sounds everywhere. That is something that easily overlooked and it goes unnoticed. But once we notice, we wish that we had been paying attention more often.

LAB (THEORY PRACTICED)

In Hooktheroy I watched some tutorial videos that showed me how different parts of this software work.

OUTSIDE (CREATIVITY & THE BRAIN)

What I thought about on my walk was deeper into things than how sometimes I think. If my life were a story, I believe my nemesis would be myself. I am my worst critic about everything I do and it seems like whatever I do is never good enough (even though others say it is). I’m not really sure if I am trying to accomplish or win anything. I think I’m trying to just be good enough.

STUDIO (SONGWRITING)

In this room I learned a lot about soundtrap and how to use it which is very helpful! With this new skill it will be a lot easier to create my own songs.

CONTROL ROOM (RECORDING & MIXING)

This is my certificate indicating that I am now a “Certified Soundtrap Expert”!

WEEKLY ACTIVITY EVALUATION

I think that I have learned a lot this week and was able to process and understand all the information thrown my way. I would call this week a success!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *